POLICIES FOR RENTERS

Last updated January 2021

When you rent a rental unit from Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC), the most important rule is that you must have fun. See the Policies for Renters below for the less fun, but equally important rules. And please note that by booking a rental unit through Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC), you agree to the Terms of Use of this website and all terms and conditions defined in the rental contract you enter into with the individual rental unit owner. Our rental agreement supersedes any and all Outdoorsy and Wheelbase agreements and contracts.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

You pay 50% of the total rental fee at the time of booking. You pay the remainder 14 days before the rental period, or, if booking with less than 14 days to go, at the time of booking.

SECURITY DEPOSIT

You will be charged a $1500 security deposit two days before your trip begins. This deposit will be released, less any damages or additional fees typically within a week of returning the rental unit.

MILEAGE ALLOWANCE

The rental rate includes a mileage allowance of 150 miles per day. Travel above 150 miles per day incurs a fee of 45 cents a mile, travel above 300 miles a day incurs a fee of 95 cents a mile, and you will be charged upon returning the rental unit.

FUEL

Your rental unit will have a full tank of fuel when you pick it up. Please make sure to fill it back up before you return it. Alternatively, we will refuel for you at $100 charge billed upon returning the rental unit.

PROPANE

If renting a unit with propane, your rental unit will have a full tank of propane when you pick it up. This typically is sufficient for cooking and heating of the unit throughout your rental. Costs associated with any additional propane are the responsibility of the renter. Please follow the instructions provided in the vehicle for refilling the propane tank, and note that you will be responsible for any damages to the propane system caused by improper filling. You do not need to return the rental unit with a full propane tank.

DRIVING FINES, TOLLS AND FEES

You are responsible for any fines, tolls, or campground registration fees. These costs are typically deducted from your security deposit or billed upon returning the rental unit.

CANCELLATIONS

Free cancellation for 48 hours after booking, as long as you cancel more than 14 days before departure.

If cancelled more than 10 days prior to departure: Insurance is refunded
75% of the booking total is refunded
The service fee is not refunded

If cancelled more than 7 days prior to departure:
Insurance is refunded
50% of the booking total is refunded The service fee is not refunded

If cancelled more than 5 days prior to departure:
Insurance is refunded
25% of the booking total is refunded The service fee is not refunded

If cancelled 5 days or less from departure:
No insurance refund No booking refund

The service fee is not refunded Cancellations must be made in writing.

Any cancelation refund issued does not include the 5% credit card fee.

We are unable to offer refunds for shortened trips if for some reason (e.g. weather, change in schedule) you return the vehicle early.

Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) reserves the right to cancel a reservation at our discretion if we feel that the rental would not be safe (e.g. a renter shows up intoxicated, extreme weather is expected, etc.). If we cancel the reservation you will receive a refund or credit of our determination depending on the reason for cancellation, minus all fees.

DRIVERS

We do not rent to drivers under the age of 25 and we do a DMV check on all drivers to ensure you meet minimum requirements. If you’ve had two or more major moving violations or any DUIs in the past, you will be denied access to renting. If you fail the DMV check you will receive a full refund. If you are under the age of 25 and book a rental unit we reserve the right to cancel your reservation and keep up to 100% of the total booking cost.

If several people intend to drive the vehicle, all must go through, and pass, the DMV check. Costs associated with verifying two drivers are included in the rental. A $10 verification fee is assessed for each additional driver above and beyond two drivers. A valid drivers license must be presented by all drivers when you pick up the vehicle.

CONDUCT WHILE DRIVING

You agree to never drive in a careless or negligent manner while driving an Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) rental unit, nor to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, nor permit operation of the vehicle by any person except those signed to the agreement. We reserve the right to fine the renter up to $1,000 if our conduct requirements are not followed.

TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS

We want you to go have the adventure of your life, but, we don’t want you taking the rental units off-road.

Most of our vehicles are not appropriate for unimproved roads, 4×4 tracks, thick mud, wet or heavy sand, heavily wash boarded or pot hole laden roads. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) fleet is great for paved roads and established campgrounds. Unpaved state and federal forest roads are permitted as long as they are maintained and well-graded. Exercise caution and good judgement when traveling on such roads, and, when in doubt either drive very slowly or just don’t do it. If you do venture off-road, you will be responsible for all damages to the vehicle and all costs associated with any necessary towing or other expenses that result from your breaking this very important rule.

Travel is restricted to the USA. Travel to Canada and Mexico is strictly prohibited. Travel to Burning Man is strictly prohibited. The entire security deposit will be forfeited if there is evidence of travel to Mexico, Canada or the Burning Man festival, and additional fines of up to

$10,000 may apply. Certain units have more specific travel restrictions. You are required to check what those are and follow the restrictions for the unit you rent. Renters who take a rental outside of the rental boundaries are subject to up to a $10,000 fine. You must get written approval to take a rental outside its designated boundary. You can submit a full trip itinerary for review by emailing rentals@oregonadventurerentals.com. At no time will permission be given for any units to leave the USA.

INSURANCE

You are required to purchase the WheelBase/Outdoorsy insurance, which provides collision and liability coverage. We reserve the right to charge the security deposit for any damage to the rental unit in addition to charging the renter for an additional $2,500 deductible for the insurance policy.

DAMAGE

We have up to 7 days from you returning the rental unit to document any damage to the rental unit and charge you for it. We hold the security deposit for 7 days from the rental return to give us time to do any needed documentation and submit any needed insurance claim. We reserve the right to submit any claim needed, charge the security deposit, and charge any fee that is necessary based on the damage.

24-HOUR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE

We will send you off with WheelBase/Outdoorsy 24-hour roadside assistance package for $15 a day. Coverage includes unlimited: towing, flat tire assistance, emergency fluids delivery, battery boost, and a mobile mechanic.

RENTER RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING MAINTENANCE OF THE VEHICLE

You are responsible for checking all fluid levels, including oil and coolant levels at each refueling. You are also responsible for checking air tire pressure, lug nuts and wheels at each refueling. You are responsible for mechanical damages due to negligence in operation and/or maintenance.

ACCIDENTS

If you are in an accident you are required to call Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) as soon as it is safe to do so. If the accident involves other drivers, please be sure to get the license and insurance information of everyone involved. You should also plan on calling the local authorities to report the accident. You will be required to fill out

and submit the accident submission form you received upon booking the rental unit within 24 hours of the accident. One accident submission form is required for each rental unit involved in an accident. If the accident results in disruption of your trip, you are responsible for any lodging, transportation, or food costs while the vehicle is out of service. Accidents typically result in an insurance claim. The insurance policy you purchased as part of your rental will likely kick in; please recall that there is a $1,500 deductible on comp and collision that Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will bill to the renter in addition to the security deposit. If the renter is in an at fault or partially at fault accident with any of our rental units where the rental unit has to be taken to out of commission for any repairs we will charge the renter a $2,000 fee for this inconvenience and loss of rental time. The renter will be billed for any vehicle recovery costs. If the renter is in an accident with any of our rental units and does not submit a written report of the accident to our email rentals@oregonadventurerentals.com before the end of the rental period when the unit is due to be returned to us, we reserve the right to charge the renter up to a $2,500 fine.

MECHANICAL FAILURES

If you experience a mechanical failure, please call the rental unit owner as soon as possible to report and discuss the issue. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will do their best to have the vehicle repaired in a timely manner by a repair facility close to the breakdown location, and should be able to get you back on the road relatively quickly, particularly when you have purchased the recommended 24-Hour Roadside Assistance package. For breakdowns that last 24 hours or longer, we agree to refund the daily rental rate for the amount of time the rental unit is out of service for your scheduled booking days only, if as a result of something in Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) control. You are responsible for any lodging, transportation, or food costs while the vehicle is out of service. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC)’s liability is limited to refunding your rental fees as detailed above.

If the mechanical failure is due to no fault of yours (e.g. the timing belt breaks) Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will be responsible for paying any costs associated with the repair and recovery of the vehicle. If, however, it is deemed that the mechanical failure is the result of negligence (e.g. you failed to check the oil levels) or inappropriate driving (e.g. you overheated the engine by trying to go over 75 miles an hour, you will be held responsible for covering the cost of the repair and recovery.

In the unlikely event that something happens, we’ll do everything we can to get you back on the road so you can keep enjoying your adventure.

MINOR SCRAPES, DINGS AND DAMAGE

Things happen. If you are driving along and a rock dings the windshield, you are responsible for any costs associated with fixing the windshield. This is true of any small ding, scratch, or minor damage to the vehicle. You’ll do a walk around with the owner before checking out the vehicle, and another upon return of the vehicle. The cost to repair minor scrapes, dings and damages will be deducted from your security deposit.

PETS

Pets accepted if they are well behaved, they cannot be in the cabin of the vehicle. Pets are not allowed to be on the seats of the vehicle or trailer, they must remain on the floor, in the bed, or

trunk. If you fail to declare a pet in advance, you will still be charged a pet fee which will be deducted from your security deposit or billed upon returning the rental unit.

SMOKING

Please do not smoke cigarettes, tobacco, marijuana, or anything else in the rental units, Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) reserves the right to charge up to a

$2,500 fine to the renter for any units found to be smoked in.

PICK UP AND DROP OFF

Check-in (pick up) and walk-through for Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC is at 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm. Checkout (drop off) is at 11:00 am – 12:00 pm. We do not currently offer check-in or checkout on Saturdays or Sundays. If renting over a weekend you will need to book the unit for Friday through Monday. Check-in (pick up) and walk-through for Oregon Adventure Trucks location is at 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm. Checkout (drop off) is at 11:00 am – 12:00 pm.

Check-in (pick up) and walk-through and checkout (drop off) for consign owners rental units are determined by rental unit owner. Please double-check the check-in (pick up) and walk-through and checkout (drop off) time for the unit you are renting in your reservation.

We will need a copy of a valid driver’s license for the renter/driver of the vehicle and a current copy of your insurance card. You must be at least 25 years old to rent one of our units and drive and/or tow it. If using your own tow vehicle you must provide a copy of its valid registration.

License plates must be visible and have current registration on them. Tow vehicles must be outfitted with a 7 pin connector, 2” hitch receiver, and have a trailer brake controller.

Before returning the trailer or vehicle please make sure to clean up after yourself. Please clean and put all items away where they belong, remove any food, remove any items from the fridge, remove all trash and take your personal belongings. We clean the bedding, please leave it neatly on the bed. If the trailer or vehicle is not cleaned as specified before returning it to us we will charge you a $100 flip fee.

Overkill adventure trailer rental

DRIVING FINES, TOLLS AND FEES

You are responsible for any fines, tolls, or campground registration fees. These costs are typically deducted from your security deposit or billed upon returning the rental unit.

CANCELLATIONS

Free cancellation for 48 hours after booking, as long as you cancel more than 14 days before departure.

If canceled more than 10 days prior to departure:
Insurance is refunded
75% of the booking total is refunded
The service fee is not refunded

If canceled more than 7 days prior to departure:
Insurance is refunded
50% of the booking total is refunded
The service fee is not refunded

If canceled more than 5 days prior to departure:
Insurance is refunded
25% of the booking total is refunded
The service fee is not refunded

If canceled 5 days or less from departure:
No insurance refund
No booking refund
The service fee is not refunded

Cancellations must be made in writing.

We are unable to offer refunds for shortened trips if for some reason (e.g. weather, change in schedule) you return the vehicle early.

Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) reserves the right to cancel a reservation at our discretion if we feel that the rental would not be safe (e.g. a renter shows up intoxicated, extreme weather is expected, etc.). If we cancel the reservation you will receive a refund or credit of our determination depending on the reason for cancellation, minus all fees.

DRIVERS

We do not rent to drivers under the age of 25 and we do a DMV check on all drivers to ensure you meet minimum requirements. If you’ve had two or more major moving violations or any DUIs in the past, you will be denied access to renting. If you fail the DMV check you will receive a full refund. If you are under the age of 25 and book a rental unit we reserve the right to cancel your reservation and keep up to 100% of the total booking cost.

If several people intend to drive the vehicle, all must go through, and pass, the DMV check. Costs associated with verifying two drivers are included in the rental. A $10 verification fee is assessed for each additional driver above and beyond two drivers. A valid drivers license must be presented by all drivers when you pick up the vehicle.

CONDUCT WHILE DRIVING

You agree to never drive in a careless or negligent manner while driving a Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) rental unit, nor to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, nor permit operation of the vehicle by any person except those signed to the agreement. We reserve the right to fine the renter up to $1,000 if our conduct requirements are not followed.

TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS

We want you to go have the adventure of your life, but, we don’t want you taking the rental units off-road.

Most of our vehicles are not appropriate for unimproved roads, 4×4 tracks, thick mud, wet or heavy sand, heavily wash-boarded or pothole laden roads. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) fleet is great for paved roads and established campgrounds. Unpaved state and federal forest roads are permitted as long as they are maintained and well-graded. Exercise caution and good judgment when traveling on such roads, and, when in doubt either drive very slowly or just don’t do it. If you do venture off-road, you will be responsible for all damages to the vehicle and all costs associated with any necessary towing or other expenses that result from your breaking this very important rule.

Travel is restricted to the USA. Travel to Canada and Mexico is strictly prohibited. Travel to Burning Man is strictly prohibited. The entire security deposit will be forfeited if there is evidence of travel to Mexico, Canada, or the Burning Man festival, and additional fines of up to $10,000 may apply. Certain units have more specific travel restrictions. You are required to check what those are and follow the restrictions for the unit you rent. Renters who take a rental outside of the rental boundaries are subject to up to a $10,000 fine. You must get written approval to take a rental outside its designated boundary. You can submit a full trip itinerary for review by emailing rentals@oregonadventurerentals.com. At no time will permission be given for any units to leave the USA.

INSURANCE

You are required to purchase the WheelBase/Outdoorsy insurance, which provides collision and liability coverage. We reserve the right to charge the security deposit for any damage to the rental unit in addition to charging the renter for an additional $2,500 deductible for the insurance policy.

24-HOUR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE

We will send you off with WheelBase/Outdoorsy 24-hour roadside assistance package for $15 a day. Coverage includes unlimited: towing, flat tire assistance, emergency fluids delivery, battery boost, and a mobile mechanic.

4x4 rental camper in Central Oregon

RENTER RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING MAINTENANCE OF THE VEHICLE

You are responsible for checking all fluid levels, including oil and coolant levels at each refueling. You are also responsible for checking air tire pressure, lug nuts and wheels at each refueling. You are responsible for mechanical damages due to negligence in operation and/or maintenance.

ACCIDENTS

If you are in an accident you are required to call Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) as soon as it is safe to do so. If the accident involves other drivers, please be sure to get the license and insurance information of everyone involved. You should also plan on calling the local authorities to report the accident. If the accident results in disruption of your trip, you are responsible for any lodging, transportation, or food costs while the vehicle is out of service. Accidents typically result in an insurance claim. The insurance policy you purchased as part of your rental will likely kick in; please recall that there is a $1,500 deductible on comp and collision that Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will bill to the renter in addition to the security deposit. If the renter is in an at fault or partially at fault accident with any of our rental units where the rental unit has to be taken to out of commission for any repairs we will charge the renter a $2,000 fee for this inconvenience and lost of rental time. The renter will be billed for any vehicle recovery costs. If the renter is in an accident with any of our rental units and does not submit a written report of the accident to our email rentals@oregonadventurerentals.com before the end of the rental period when the unit is due to be returned to us, we reserve the right to charge the renter up to a $2,500 fine.

MECHANICAL FAILURES

If you experience a mechanical failure, please call the rental unit owner as soon as possible to report and discuss the issue. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will do their best to have the vehicle repaired in a timely manner by a repair facility close to the breakdown location, and should be able to get you back on the road relatively quickly, particularly when you have purchased the recommended 24-Hour Roadside Assistance package. For breakdowns that last 24 hours or longer, we agree to refund the daily rental rate for the amount of time the rental unit is out of service for your scheduled booking days only, if as a result of something in Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) control. You are responsible for any lodging, transportation, or food costs while the vehicle is out of service. Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC)’s liability is limited to refunding your rental fees as detailed above.

If the mechanical failure is due to no fault of yours (e.g. the timing belt breaks) Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) will be responsible for paying any costs associated with the repair and recovery of the vehicle. If, however, it is deemed that the mechanical failure is the result of negligence (e.g. you failed to check the oil levels) or inappropriate driving (e.g. you overheated the engine by trying to go over 75 miles an hour, you will be held responsible for covering the cost of the repair and recovery.

In the unlikely event that something happens, we’ll do everything we can to get you back on the road so you can keep enjoying your adventure.

MINOR SCRAPES, DINGS, AND DAMAGE

Things happen. If you are driving along and a rock dings the windshield, you are responsible for any costs associated with fixing the windshield. This is true of any small ding, scratch, or minor damage to the vehicle. You’ll do a walk around with the owner before checking out the vehicle, and another upon return of the vehicle. The cost to repair minor scrapes, dings, and damages will be deducted from your security deposit.

PETS

Pets accepted if they are well behaved, they cannot be in the cabin of the vehicle. Pets are not allowed to be on the seats of the vehicle or trailer, they must remain on the floor, in the bed, or trunk. If you fail to declare a pet in advance, you will still be charged a pet fee which will be deducted from your security deposit or billed upon returning the rental unit.

SMOKING

Please do not smoke cigarettes, tobacco, marijuana, or anything else in the rental units, Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC) reserves the right to charge up to a $2,500 fine to the renter for any units found to be smoked in.

PICK UP AND DROP OFF

Check-in (pick up) and walk through for Oregon Adventure Rentals (Adventure Equipment Holdings, LLC is at 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm. Checkout (drop off) is at 11:00 am – 12:00 pm. We do not currently offer check-in or checkout on Saturdays or Sundays. If renting over a weekend you will need to book the unit for Friday through Monday. Check-in (pick up) and walk through for Oregon Adventure Trucks location is at 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm. Checkout (drop off) is at 11:00 am – 12:00 pm. Check-in (pick up) and walk through and checkout (drop off) for consign owners rental units are determined by rental unit owner. Please double check the check-in (pick up) and walk through and checkout (drop off) time for the unit you are renting in your reservation.

We will need a copy of a valid driver’s license for the renter/driver of the vehicle and a current copy of your insurance card. You must be at least 25 years old to rent one of our units and drive and/or tow it. If using your own tow vehicle you must provide a copy of its valid registration. License plates must be visible and have current registration on them. Tow vehicles must be outfitted with a 7 pin connector, 2” hitch receiver, and have a trailer brake controller.

Before returning the trailer or vehicle please make sure to clean up after yourself. Please clean and put all items away where they belong, remove any food, remove any items from the fridge, remove all trash, and take your personal belongings. We clean the bedding, please leave it neatly on the bed. If the trailer or vehicle is not cleaned as specified before returning it to us we will charge you a $100 flip fee.